"Overall Thumbs Up"

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

I had my little boy on the 1st Jan 2012. Overall a good service, scans were done on time and accurately. My waters broke with moiconium and I was monitored, they had to force the contractions but were gentle with the tempo and I managed to give birth naturally with gas and air. I only have two issues 1) I fainted with the midwife when having blood tests so I had to have it taken at the dept upstairs, the nurse who took them was a little stressed and disorganized. Being someone who is not good with blood test this was off putting 2) When I called in an said I had miconium in my waters the nurse who picked up the phone wasn't concerned but I then spoke to a DR later and she was very concern and told me to come in (the nurse should have been more concerned).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that overall you had a positive experience from our maternity service. However I am sorry that the two issues you mention stopped this from being a completely first class experience that we aim for. Without knowing the full details it is difficult to comment on your individual case but the presence of meconium can be the indication that a baby is in some distress, although there are other reasons for this. Our policy is to monitor the babies heart beat closely as labour progresses so that we can check for any distress and take appropriate action if it is needed. We will use your feedback to help in our regular learning. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail and would be grateful if you could contact me directly on marina.wingham@wmuh.nhs.uk / or call 020 8560 2121 and ask to be put through via my bleep. Marina Wingham, Matron for Maternity.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story