After being admitted to DPOW hospital, I was transferred to the PHC. (36 miles away from home for me). Most staff were welcoming and easy to talk to, as well as some other inpatients, although not all were so easy to get along with. Anyway, there are things to do on the day ward, not that I ever went. If you're a smoker, you are able to go for a cigarette (they try to limit it to one cig, every hour). My review there, was not very good, I felt very awkward and out of place. On the thursday I had one doctor tell me I wasn't well enough to go out intotthe outside world again. On Friday an adolescent psychiatrist came to visit me (I'm 6 weeks off being 18, there was a bed shortage for adolescents in the UK.) He spoke to me for about 10 minutes, I'm not joking, and I was told that I was okay to go home. I then asked a nurse when I could leave, she told me I could leave whenever I wanted to.. So at 17, not knowing anyone that could drive me home and not knowing Lincoln too well, I had to get a taxi home. (I was charged £42.10). I am currently seeing camhs after my stay in the PHC and in my opinion have been left to rot and get worse. All in all its not too bad there, but there are things that concern me in regards as to what patients can get away with in there. E.g people with drinking problems being able to go out, and return drunk.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

As a result of similar stories both locally and nationally our Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service have developed an intensive support team designed not only to avoid the need to place people in out of area beds by providing more robust community treatment, but with additional functions to stay in contact with them and their family or carers during admission, reduce their length of stay in hospital, and provide intensive support upon discharge. We are sorry that you were not given the additional support now available for those under 18s in North East Lincolnshire who require this”

We would clearly expect that you would be given more support on discharge from hospital and in your transition to adults services. Our Team now have the exclusive remit in relation to this and we would hope that experiences like this are now greatly reduced.

Head of Service, North East Lincs CAMHS

Response from Acute Mental Health Unit & Day Hospital

I am sorry that we have been unable to respond to your comment until now, this has been due to a technical problem. Thank you for your feedback about the Peter Hodkinson Centre and I am sorry that you had a negative experience whilst you were an inpatient at the Peter Hodgkinson Centre. If there is anything we can help you with currently, please do not hesitate to contact us. Tel: 01529 222265 oe email PALS@lpft.nhs.uk

Updates, changes and questions related to this story