"poor nursing infection prevention hand hygiene"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

Anything else?

On two separate occasions I visited my partners relatives and witnessed the complete lack of five moments of hand hygiene by all staff on both ward areas. Poor medication administration and complete non adherence to NMC medicines standards. I have written to complain and the hospital will not process my complaint without signed statements from the two elderly relatives I was visiting. As a registered nurse of 30 years I find the hospitals deliberate avoidance tactics to not investigate and log this complaint shameful. What else are they refusing to acknowledge?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

We are sorry to hear of the practices observed when you were visiting. Due to confidentiality we are unable to investigate complaints involving patients without their consent however your observations have been shared with the site matrons and they have been asked to remind their wards and observe practice in their areas. Regarding the standards expected in this areas of practice. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Linda Higginbottom

Deputy Director of Operations Lincoln and Louth

Updates, changes and questions related to this story