"Doctors will not listen"

About: King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

Anything else?

I was referred to this hospital after suffering a blackout. They have done several ecg's, echo, blood work, and 24 hour tape and have found nothing. I explained to the doctor that I feel fine and have no symptons. The doctor said he would do a cardiac mri and if the findings were normal he would discharge me so I can go back to work (I drive for a living) the MRI came back clear. The doctor has now changed his mind and wants me to do an EP study which has risks. What happens if that test comes back clear? I have not been able to work for over 4 months because of this. This has to stop. This Doctor is willing to waste taxpayers money for no reason. People who are genuinely ill are waiting longer to see a doctor because I am feeling fine and the doctors will not listen to me. I just hope to God these doctors do not damage my heart during this unecessary EP study.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

I am sorry that you failed to receive a prompt response to your email and that you were concerned about a proposed diagnostic investigation, both in regard to its relevance, cost and potential risks. I hope that you were able to further discuss your concern with the medical team responsible for you and that they explained why they thought an EP study was advisable. The EP study shows internal sources of impulse conduction inside the heart which the other investigations would not identify.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story