"unhappy with a Doctor"

About: Charing Cross Hospital

Anything else?

I attended the emergency department at the Charing Cross Hospital symptoms: sensation of swelling in the left arm and thoracic area to the left and pain in the centre of my upper back area between the shoulder blades, a sensation of having something in the oesophagus and feeling breathless . Despite having told the Doctor that it was not the heart he went ahead and did an ecg. I tried to tell the Doctor that it felt like a respiratory problem, possibly a chest infection, and requested a chest XRay - he refused on the grounds that I did not have a temperature. He also did not proceed with the blood test booked by another Doctor. I explained that 5 months earlier I had a CT scan, noted mediastinal lymph nodes and that I had elevated fibrinogen and Esr that I was waiting for an appointment with the respiratory team, and that I was in pain. His response was that a CT scan is 300 times superior to an chest XRay. "Of course it is"! However the report of the CT scan is five months old from the date of my attendance to an Acident and emergency and that I was in pain. He did not listen to a word, explaining that in the past when I attended the accident and emergency "information given by me to him" I was given antibiotics when they should not have done because I did not have a temperature, emphasising that the senior consultant's work was not good, neither was the work of a junior doctor (like him) - which was actually excellent and thorough in finding raised lymphocyte count and a chest infection, as a consequence of that I was prescribed antibiotics. He carried on suggesting that the report of the old chest xray was normal - contrary to what the other two consultants had said- and that my pain was coming from my swollen lymphnodes and that what I needed was pain killers. I was given painkillers, I took the pain killers and an hour later at home I started experiencing terrible abdominal pain. He also prescribed much stronger painkillers - Tramadol, a narcotic-like pain reliever used to treat moderate to severe pain. Not very good if you have respiratory problems. In summary, the experience with this Doctor was very negative.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Charing Cross Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very concened to read of your experience at Charing Cross A & E and we apologise for the distress you were caused. You have raised significant concerns and it would be important to be able to investigate and respond in detail to your concerns. We hope you will contact our PALS service pals@imperial.nhs.uk with further details so this can be facilited.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story