"Cut tendons in my leg"

About: Southend Hospital

Anything else?

I was in my loft when I stepped through a glass fan light,I knew immediately that I had a bed injury .my wife helped me get down the ladder ,with a towel tied around my leg.she then dialed 999 & called for medical help. The car with the paramedic in was on the scene in a matter of minutes .he patched me up did a patient exchange with an ambulance crew . I was taken into southend hospital, sea the senior nurse. &awash put in the out patients room.after 30 minutes I was taken for an X-ray & then put back in the waiting room .a nurse called me into be seen ,i had now been waiting over 4 hours She took the original bandage off my leg & told me she was now going to stitch my wound up. I told her she couldn't do that as I had cut my tendons.she still gave what she thought was a blood clot a couple of tugs .even though i tild her it was attached to me.the original nurse who sent me to the waiting room arrived. Looked gave it (the tendon) a tug . She now told me I had to admitted as I was well past the 4 hour set time limet , I was taken to a ward & promptly seen by another doctor ,who also had a pull at my leg,I again told her it was attached. Another senior doctor came. Had a good look & the tug he then said I needed an operation which would be carried out the next day,I was then told i would have one the following day so I had gone over 2 days (no food & sips of water.)I finally had it the next day. Since my operation I have had some improvement, but after a MRI ,x ray emg , some Physio I'm awaiting an ultra sound scan before returning to the 2 consultant I've seen plus to other doctors , I would by then have waited 5 months,an still needing corrective surgery. 1) I wasn't checked properly on coming to the a&e 2)it's scary that 3/4 doctors & nurses couldn't tell the difference between a blood clot & a tendon . 3) I had no movement in my foot & my leg had no flex & was numb . 4) I have been told & at the beginning I might need an explority investigation in my leg if the tendons were not working or stuck . 5) it looks like that's going to be the case. I have to say from the start I had my doubts when they couldn't tell the difference between blood & tissue .i have only had my doubts had worst at every stop up to where I am at now. I know my treatment is still on going & I have marked my card but to have to wait 6 or 7 weeks for MRI 7 more to see the consult ,6for an emg 6 to see the consult now 6 to have an ultra sound scan . Plus a. Total of 8after the first operation & the first consultant . There's quite a lot I've missed out writing but the points made especially at The beginning makes me worry about if,,,,,,,,,,,,',,

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Southend Hospital

Dear Sir, I was truly sorry to learn of your accident and of the problems you have experienced. Whilst we would be happy to look into your concerns and help where we can, we will need confirmation of your details and when you attended the hospital. Please can you contact our complaints team at complaints@southend.nhs.uk with the further details needed to investigate your concerns. In the meantime, I will be passing your comments to the teams involved so that they can disseminate them among their staff. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Steve McEwen Patient Experience Lead

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Steve McEwen, Patient Experience Lead, Patient Liaison, Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Sir,

I was truly sorry to learn of your accident and of the problems you have experienced. Whilst we would be happy to look into your concerns and help where we can, we will need confirmation of your details and when you attended the hospital. Please can you contact our complaints team at complaints@southend.nhs.uk with the further details needed to investigate your concerns.

In the meantime, I will be passing your comments to the teams involved so that they can disseminate them among their staff.

We look forward to hearing from you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story