"Bad experience in gynae ward"

About: Salisbury District Hospital / Gynaecology

(as a relative),

My wife went in to have a routine investigation done at Salisbury. It was planned as a day case and all went well on the day. Unfortunately it was the night were things went wrong. She was unable to urinate following surgery so they kept her in.

Overnight she had increasing pain and was still unable to urinate. The staff nurse was agency and wasn't able to do catheters and it took them until 7am the next morning to catheterise her. She was in agonising pain and subsequently due to the damage caused had to have the catheter for a further four days. It was shocking.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Salisbury District Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your wife's experience. We feel it's important that we look carefully at the issues you have raised here, but we need more details than you have provided. We would be grateful if your wife could call our Customer Care Department on 0800 374208 so that we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Alison Herod, Business Relations Manager, Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to hear about your fiancée’s experience.

We feel it's important that we look carefully at the issues you have raised here, but we need more details than you have provided. We would be grateful if your fiancée could call our Patient Experience Department on 0800 374208 so that we can discuss this further.

We hope that she is recovering following her hospital stay.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story