"Great care, terrible food!"

About: St Mary's Hospital (Manchester)

Anything else?

I spent three days as an inpatient at St Mary's following a caesarean. All staff from the theatre to the ward were wonderful and the care I received was top notch, despite it being very busy. The only thing that let St Mary's down were the meals. They consisted of tiny quantities of dried up 'food' devoid of any flavour, which bore no resemblance to the description on the menu. I have stayed in many other hospitals in the past and never been served up anything so disgusting in my life. I was fit, healthy and ravenous and still couldn't bring myself to eat it so I really feel for the poorly patients with little appetite in the first place - those who really need good nourishment to aid in their recovery. I believe the catering has been outsourced to Sodexo. I hope my comments can be passed on to them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments posted on the Patient Opinion website regarding your care in the maternity unit following your caesarean section. It was very kind of you to write and compliment the staff as it is good to receive positive feedback which reflects the hard work and dedication of our staff. Your comments will be shared with the teams.

We, however, are sorry to hear of your experience involving Sodexo. In response to your comment, we can tell you that your concerns have been shared with Sodexo (our private sector partner) and they have responded to say that your comments about the food will be taken on board and followed through with the Patient Dining Team.

Sodexo and the Trust are working jointly on a Patient Experience Project to review how we deliver meals to patients and we will share your feedback with that team to ensure that they consider your comments in the work that they are undertaking.

We work closely with Sodexo and are passionate about the food we produce and believe it is important to deliver high standards of food and service to our patients. On this occasion, we have clearly fallen below the high targets we have set ourselves. This was compounded by the fact we did not pick up the issues that you were experiencing at the time, as we encourage wards to raise problems while they are in with us, so that we can rectify issues in a timely manner.

The patient meals come from Sodexo’s prepared food business, Tillery Valley Foods, a market leader in the Healthcare sector. Tillery Valley works to national nutritional guidelines; employs registered dieticians; and, uses fresh UK produce avoiding convenience ingredients wherever possible.

It is difficult to respond to all the posts in a full way often because of a lack of detailed information, therefore if you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from St Mary's Hospital

Thank you for your comments posted on the NHS Choices website regarding your care in the maternity unit following your caesarean section. It was very kind of you to write and compliment the staff as it is good to receive positive feedback which reflects the hard work and dedication of our staff . Your comments will be shared with the teams. We, however, are sorry to hear of your experience involving Sodexo. In response to your comment, we can tell you that your concerns have been shared with Sodexo (our private sector partner) and they have responded to say that your comments about the food will be taken on board and followed through with the Patient Dining Team. Sodexo and the Trust are working jointly on a Patient Experience Project to review how we deliver meals to patients and we will share your feedback with that team to ensure that they consider your comments in the work that they are undertaking. We work closely with Sodexo and are passionate about the food we produce and believe it is important to deliver high standards of food and service to our patients. On this occasion, we have clearly fallen below the high targets we have set ourselves. This was compounded by the fact we did not pick up the issues that you were experiencing at the time, as we encourage wards to raise problems while they are in with us, so that we can rectify issues in a timely manner. The patient meals come from Sodexo’s prepared food business, Tillery Valley Foods, a market leader in the Healthcare sector. Tillery Valley works to national nutritional guidelines; employs registered dieticians; and, uses fresh UK produce avoiding convenience ingredients wherever possible. It is difficult to respond to all the posts in a full way often because of a lack of detailed information, therefore if you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story