"My farther,s stay"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Anything else?

My farther was admitted to AMU, as I had to insist on this to a locum dr at his normal surgery, and had asked my G.P for this for at least three months as my dad,s weight had been dropping rapidly and he was not my dad anymore,but to his G.P not finding anything but he had scan,s but we where still told nothing there,as the pain in his tummy got worse I took it on my self to get a locum in and in the end she agreed to send him 2 Wonford in which my dad asked for.Dad was admitted to Lowman Ward in which nurseing staff have been very good,pleasant and helpful,apart from one male night nurse,my dad is a very private man and is finding his stay in hospital very hard to t come to terms with and is finding it very differcult.My dad was admitted on the 22nd of November and after being moved to Lowman Ward,for six days now we have visited, day and some times night and I have rang if I have not been there to ask for his well being in which I asked to speak with his dr on the ward at visiting,and I am still waiting six days on for some explanation to what is happening,what is wrong and where we go from here.I will ring today before visiting to try and get help for his dr to see me,yesterday at 2.40 I was told I would see her in minutes but I am still waiting so if no luck today I will make a complaint,I will never use Wonford again,three years back in oct I lost my mum in Wonford then,never again will use it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Engagement & Experience Administrator, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for sharing your story and I am very sorry to hear of the concerns you have experienced at the RD&E. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and ask if you could please contact the Patient Engagement and Experience Team on 01392 402363 or 403915.

Kind regards

Tracy

Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for sharing your story and I am very sorry to hear of the problems you have experienced at the RD&E. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and ask if you can call the Patient Engagement and Experience Team on 01392 402363 or 403915. Kind regards Tracy

Updates, changes and questions related to this story