"Fracture foot and made to stand on it"

About: Ripley Hospital

Anything else?

I attended Ripley Hospital with what I assumed was a back sprain to my ankle however my foot was highly swollen and black. I could hardly walk infact I hobbled in as it was my nearest hospital and offered X ray Facilities which were great if needed. Having given my details to the reception I was waiting 2 and half hours to be seen by a student nurse in 'triage' who asked the normal 'out of 10' and 'what happened questions'. I explained to her I couldn't stand on my foot due to pain, however she said she needed me to assess my pain. I did strongly object and asked if there was anything else that could have been done - apparently not. I'd have assumed a visual inspection of my foot and the pain I was in would have been enough. The student nurse was very rude unhelpful saying she needed to know in order to treat it. So I did. The most blood curling pain struck me and I heard a 'crack' so if it was already broken it was then. I was in soo much pain I feel over, screamed and cried. Without helping me up the student nurse said 'Oh I see it's painful i'll get my supervisor '. This continued and I was helped up to my feet where I got told to got for an x ray ,this wasn't too far in terms of metres but in serious pain and hopping took forever. I was never offered a wheelchair or support and made to "make my own way" to X ray - after that back to the main minor injuries department reception and back into the waiting area. This again on the scale of things wasn't a massive journey but took ages. On consulting the x rays they weren't medically qualified to tell me if there was a break or not - after this carry on. So sent me to Derby the following morning in a half leg plaster cast. It turns out my foot was broken and I was off work for 8 weeks. I regret going to Ripley now as it was highly unprofessional, rude, un thoughtful and I was treated with a lack of care. I have told soo many people about my experience and would suggest if it's more than a few stitches to go else where

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Mary Heritage, Assistant Director of Quality , Quality, Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Trust

I am so sorry to hear about your experience of using our service. It is now a priority that we understand exactly what happened and are able to learn from you. We need to make any improvements we can to ensure that all of our patients are treated safely, effectively and with compassion.

I would very much value the opportunity to hear from you directly. I hope you feel able to call the patient experience team on 01773 525119 so that we can take the full details of your case and undertake a full investigation.

We take your feedback very seriously. Once again I am sorry that your experience of using our services was not positive.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Ripley Hospital

I am so sorry to hear about your experience of using our service. It is now a priority that we understand exactly what happened and are able to learn from you. We need to make any improvements we can to ensure that all of our patients are treated safely, effectively and with compassion. I would very much value the opportunity to hear from you directly. I hope you feel able to call the patient experience team on 01773 525119 so that we can take the full details of your case and undertake a full investigation. We take your feedback very seriously. Once again I am sorry that your experience of using our services was not positive. Mary Hertitage, Assistant Director/Professional Lead for Allied Health Professionals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story