"my recent short stay in the MRI"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

I have recently had a small procedure which involved a stay overnight in the Elective Treatment Center in the MRI. My comment is aimed at the people who ordain the general procedure on the ward The nurses as always were just superb but the pressure and stress they were under is noticable. Point 1. If patient care is ment to be the main focus of the NHS service then may I ask why After the hours of say 9pm are bleeping alarms going off? The ones patients use to summon a nurse, causing stress to sick people and interupting the sleep of all. These alams are some times left for several hours to bleep. why has a remote mobile unit not been installed that a nurse can have about her person. Point 2. There should also be a curfew on general noise My point here is that the rules seem to outway a patient requirments and no one seems to take on board that the patients suffer in silence. I was in for 1 night on my day of discharge I was made to wait 2 houres for the pharmacy to prepare my prescription why was this not done the day before?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your experience was not as positive as we would hope on the Elective Treatment Centre. We were concerned to read that you found the noise on the Unit at night to be unacceptable and that you experienced a delay in obtaining your medication on the day you were discharged. It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible.

In response to your comment, We can tell you that we are looking at how we can reduce levels of noise on the Elective Treatment Centre at night and will ensure that this issue is raised at the next staff meeting. Your concerns about your discharge medication will also be raised directly with the Pharmacy Department and also the medical staff so that they can look into them to avoid others experiencing the same issues as you did.

If you would like to discuss your concerns with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your experience was not as positive as we would hope on the Elective Treatment Centre. We were concerned to read that you found the noise on the Unit at night to be unacceptable and that you experienced a delay in obtaining your medication on the day you were discharged. It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible. In response to your comment, we can tell you that we are looking at how we can reduce levels of noise on the Elective Treatment Centre at night and will ensure that this issue is raised at the next staff meeting. Your concerns about your discharge medication will also be raised directly with the Pharmacy Department and also the medical staff so that they can look into them to avoid others experiencing the same issues as you did. If you would like to discuss your concerns with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story