"ENT outpatients"

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Anything else?

I had a referral to the ENT service 12 months ago. Waiting time was OK. The experience of going to the outpatients department thought has been very upsetting. I had to see the associate specialist on 2 out of 3 appointments (the other one I insisted on seeing the consultant as he was actually there so there was at least the option). The associate was rude, arrogant, not interested in what I had to say and insinuated it was psychosomatic. He told me I wasn't experiencing what I was describing and I felt very uncomfortable and unwelcome. I am a health professional and I found myself having to be very assertive to get his opinion and have my questions answered. I do not think they were really interested. I had to insist on further tests both of which showed up the issues I suspected were the issue - the waiting times for these were fine and the staff undertaking the tests and the respiratory consultant were all very nice - showing the marked difference to the ENT team. The overall team also does not appear to function well - the nurses and receptionists show no interest or welcome, the waiting area is depressing and cramped with no magazines to read. Another member of the family has to have a referral to ENT and whilst Shrewsbury is the most convenient location I am searching information to get a different consultant team as I don't want her to be fobbed off or experience a similar situation. Unfortunately the Hospital website can't find the ENT page today! Little things matter and overall I think there is little compassion, empathy or interest. Please - you are health professionals and it doesn't take much to show you care.....

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Dear "Anonymous" Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback, particularly as you did not find the experience of our ENT team to be a positive one. I think all of us are looking for care, compassion, concern and empathy when we bring our illnesses and anxieties to an appointment and it is truly disappointing to hear that you did not find this to be the case. Feedback like this is really valuable to share with the team so that they can understand how their manner and approach affects the people we are here to serve. Providing care and treatment is a privilege, and we would not be here but for the patients who come to our hospital. We will be sharing your experience with the team so that they can use this in their training and development. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story