"Poor level of performance by the booking department"

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as a service user),

When the appointment letter came it said to use the enclosed blood test from and have the test at least a week before. No form enclosed! 2 calls later one was sent, but it was blank so our doctor pointed out it was of no use.

Phoned again and was given a number to call which continously went through to a fax machine. Phoned yet again and was told by some girl to contact the pathology lab! !

Luckily, a friend told me about the patient liason officer who was extremely helpful and left a message until the appropriate person at last I got a blood test form.

However, by now it was too late to get the test done before the hospital appointment so this meant another call to re-book.

The actual appointment experience was excellent. A very short wait and a good explanation of my condition. A follow up appointment came and a blood test form ready to use next time!

A great pity that an excellent hospital experience was tainted with such poor level of performance by the booking department.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TRAQS team.

I am sorry that you had such a poor experience. However, the booking department you refer to is not TRAQS but the hospital booking department as TRAQS do not send out correspondence for blood tests. This is purely the domain of the hospital departments sand I am pleased that you were referred to the PALS officer who was able to assist you with ensuring that you were seen in the correct clinic.

Thank you again for contacting us and providing feedback.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story