"unhappy with rheumatology apppointment waiting times"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary / Rheumatology

(as the patient),

Visited Rheumatology for my first appointment on in August 2013. Had x- ray and bloods taken and started on medication. I then received a follow up appointment for the end of December 2013. Then this week I received a letter telling me that this had been cancelled and my new appointment was march 2014 without an explanation. This is not acceptable.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry that you have had this experience. It is unusual for an appointment to be delayed so long. If you'd like to contact Marie Purdue, General Manager, with your details we will be happy to investigate this further for you and try and resolve it.

You can contact Marie Purdue on 01302 366666 ext 4037 or 4849 or by email. Our email format is firstname.lastname@dbh.nhs.uk.

Update posted by coral (the patient)

Hi this morning I rang DRI to ask why my appointment has been cancelled and was told the consultant is now taking annual leave on the original date in December. Although at least I now understand why the appointment was cancelled, 4 months from now is a very long time to wait.

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thanks for the update. As we mentioned in our last reply, if you'd like to contact Marie Purdue, General Manager, she can look into the waiting time for you. Best wishes.

Update posted by coral (the patient)

Hi telephoned the hospital yesterday and was told Marie Purdue was in a meeting.

Telephoned again later in the day and was told she was still in the meeting.

Said I would call today in the afternoon, guess what, Marie was in another meeting. Also the first extension number was unavailable both days.

Was asked by the secretary if I would like to leave a contact name and number but I declined. I asked when would be the best day to call, to which she replied that Marie only works 3 days a week and was only in today and tomorrow because of meetings and on Monday she's on training and oh guess what, Tuesday she's in a meeting.

I don't like making a fuss but in June this year had to give up the job I loved because of my symptoms.

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Sorry, Coral, we are really keen to try and sort this out for you but I understand that when you call you have not wanted to leave any contact details and that means that Marie hasn't been able to ring you back. Unfortunately, without your name and contact details we can't get in touch with you to try and help.

Although Marie is out of the office for a couple of days, she had made arrangements for one of her colleagues to pick this up for you in her absence. Again, however, they just need to get some information from you in order to do this - for example, your name, address, appointment details etc, so they can look into what's happened and try to resolve it.

Please do leave a message with your details the next time you call. We're keen to help you. Marie and the others in her team are out working in clinical areas or in meetings at certain times of the day, but, although they may not be sitting at a desk beside a phone all day, they will call you back as soon as they can if you leave a message that enables them to do so.

Best wishes.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story