"Medical care unfit for the western world"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Having been supporting my partner through her condition for around 8 months now I have come to realise just how poor treatment in the hospitals here are. The medical staff are obnoxious and unwilling to discuss treatment plans and options, so most of the time it is unclear as to what is happening or what the future entails. Nursing staff seem to appear to be greatly inconvenienced by any verbal contact at all, whether it is asking for treatment updates or simply to tell them you need assistance for example a commode. Feedback is poor, during treatment generally drugs are administered without any or little follow up to check progress which in my opinion is dangerous. It is distinctly obvious that the four hour rule is greatly more important than the patients welfare, in some cases we haven't been seen for 3 of the 4 hours despite arriving by ambulance with blue lights on (emergency). Being admitted is a very clunky process, especially at weekends. Often admission is promised with a better level of care and exposure to the "medical" staff, however what is often the case is it can take several hours (4-8) to even have a doctor come and authorise even basic of treatment. Any decisions made by A&E doctors seem to carry no weight with ward doctors, so you end up starting over. Having got through many trips to hospital and receiving a diagnosis 4 months ago, we are still yet to have the corrective procedure scheduled and carried out without being canceled. This has happened one too many times and generally at short notice. The reasons we are given are not even acceptable in a developed nations health care system. In addition to this, it is very difficult to then get a date of reschedule often taking weeks to inform us. All in all, our dealings with this hospital and the NHS in general have been very disappointing, full of mediocrity and negligence. I'm sorry this review is so negative but the level of care received had only made life difficult and upsetting for my partner and it is about time this healthcare system is reformed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experiences on 15th November 2013. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experiences on 15th November 2013. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story