"Arrogant consultant"

About: University College Hospital

Anything else?

I recently attended an outpatient appointment after being referred from my local hospital after having a problem for over six years. The receptionists and everyone else at the hospital were fantastic but the consultant couldn't be bothered to pass the time of day with me. Having travelled by train a considerable distance in peak time to be treated like this was disgraceful! He was hurried and neither of us couldn't get a word in edge ways. He wouldn't let us ask any questions about my problem and I came out feeling like the whole thing including the five month wait for the appointment had been a total waste of my time. When this appointment came through it said all consultations take as long as they take as everyone is treated on an individual basis, mine lasted less than twenty minutes. He asked for me to have tests under anaesthetic redone; some of these I have already had done many times locally. If he had read my notes provided he would have known this. I was also informed that the waiting list for these tests is currently five to six months. I can't understand why he cannot look at my previous test results to save NHS money. Of course I do understand one of the tests hasn't been done before and I will need this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University College Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the clinic consultation you had. On average an outpatient consultation usually last abut 15 minutes although we appreciate that some patients will require more time. We try our best to ensure that patients are given the time they require and are sorry to hear that this was not the case during your appointment. The quality, interpretation and protocol used for diagnostic tests can vary from different hospitals. As a specialist tertiary centre we often require more information and detail than is normally available from General Hospitals and thus do often need to repeat certain tests and diagnostics. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail you can contact the department via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 020 3447 3042 or pals@uclh.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story