"Administration"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

Anything else?

PLEASE NOTE. Before going into my concern at the inconsistent service received, this in no way reflects on the treatment and the excellent care received from the Consultant and staff, when I do eventually do get treatment. My concern is the administration of the system, which per usual seems to be developing into the self sustaining Empire, beloved by all Govt depts. I suffer 24/7 with excruciating neck pain resulting from inoperable whiplash injury to the vertibrae. I had been initally referred to this facility by my GP 4 years ago,after many years of being referred to consultants in three counties without success. The initial consultation was successful, I was to be given slow release cranial injections at yeary intervals. These were later to be reduced to six monthly intervals, but in fact not realised, further reduced to three months. None of which happened. This is in no way the fault of the front line operations. Out of the nine potential treatments offerred over the four year period, I have received just three. The system works on the basis of, first a clinic appointment, followed, at some indetermined interval by the administered treatment, should the latter be cancelled, then back to the beginning, a recursive loop! My last appointment was cancelled when I presented myself for the treatment, The Consultant being on leave!.I am now back to square one. Reasons, cancelled appointments due to staff leave. Over subscription of the service, resulting in increasingly stretched appointments. Lack of resources?. I would really like to append my name to this but,...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

Whilst I am pleased to hear about the good front line care you have received (thank you) I would like to apologise for the operational issues you have experienced; I can fully appreciate your frustration and disappointment. There are, I am sure you understand some procedural issues and policies that need to be followed but you have described an experience that has shown these to be cumbersome and detrimental to your care. I note your hesitancy in giving your name but perhaps you could contact me directly at: jennie.negus@ulh.nhs.uk with your personal details and I could get someone to look into these issues and hopefully resolve them for you? In the meantime thank you again for leaving your feedback,

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lincoln County Hospital

Whilst I am pleased to hear about the good front line care you have received (thank you) I would like to apologise for the operational issues you have experienced; I can fully appreciate your frustration and disappointment. There are, I am sure you understand some procedural issues and policies that need to be followed but you have described an experience that has shown these to be cumbersome and detrimental to your care. I note your hesitancy in giving your name but perhaps you could contact me directly at: jennie.negus@ulh.nhs.uk with your personal details and I could get someone to look into these issues and hopefully resolve them for you? In the meantime thank you again for leaving your feedback

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story