"Theatre admissions, plastics and ward 41"

About: Countess Of Chester Hospital

Anything else?

On 3rd November I was seen in the A&E department, I was seen to very quickly by a very efficient streaming nurse and booked in. Within 3 hours I had been seen by a consultant and a specialist who were excellent and a plan put in place for surgery. Unfortunately the extremely dismissive triage nurse tainted what was an otherwise fantastic service. I was not offered any pain relief and she questioned why my sister was holding a tea towel to my arterial injury. She was very abrupt and her manner came across as if she did not want to be there. I was seen two days later in the theatre assessment unit and booked in by the nursing / health care team. The specialist nurse had been in telephone contact with me throughout the week keeping me updated on availability for surgery. Both the anaesthetist and plastics team were professional and explained exactly what would be happening during surgery. Unfortunately my operation was postponed and I was moved to ward 41. I was kept fully updated throughout. I was very lucky to have been cared for on such a lovely ward by very kind and caring staff, I could not have asked for more professional individuals. They went over and above their duty to make sure I received an excellent patient journey and was pain free and comfortable. Many many thanks to all who contributed to making this journey a memorable and stress free one during a very painful and stressful time. Sian ward 41 healthcare you are fantastic.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Countess Of Chester Hospital

Dear Ms Downes Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the time you have taken to complement our staff. Please be assured that your kind words have been shared with the relevant staff. However, we were sorry to learn of your concerns about the manner and attitude of one member of staff. We take all patient feedback very seriously and your comments have been shared with our Director of Nursing & Quality as well as staff in our A&E Department. Please feel free to contact the PALs Department on Freephone 0800 195 1241 and select option 2 or email cochpals@nhs.net to give us more information about your experience. This will also give us the opportunity to feedback to you personally regarding any improvements we have been required to make as a result of your comments. The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story