"No joined up follow up care"

Anything else?

One year ago referred to this hospital, MRI arranged quickly as query tumour. Follow up appt given 3 months later for results. Many calls later, messages left, no call backs despite promises etc spoke to manager of appts, they would have been in breach of their follow up times had I been left that long for results. Earlier appt gained. 2 more very rushed consultations followed , no tumour, third appt a lovely Dr carried out further tests that no previous Dr had thought to do despite my constant insistence that I did not feel well. Turns out to be in part a vestibular disorder. Referred to neuro-ontology dept, very in depth consultation given, further tests ordered which were carried out quickly. Then the bad news, waited and waited for someone to contact me regarding the results, 6months, no one did despite consultant saying she would be in touch shortly. Hearing therapist also failed to contact me with follow up appts. On being successful in making contact obtained new appt very quickly, (once I had got through because switchboard are rude and do not seem to know which departs exist within uclh ). Was seen by the consultant who did not have my notes for the second time, therefore did not have all of my results, which she should have had as one was definitely abnormal. Blood tests she said she could not access, speech recognition test she didn't have, actually she had no results. She tried and succeeded in obtaining a couple, the rest she did bother with. Came away thinking why did I bother, she asked if I would like a follow up appt, no I wouldn't. I work for the nhs and can count on the one hand the amount of times I have asked for their help and this time I did not feel like I received it. On broaching the subject about why I had waited so long, why my notes weren't available, why wasn't my care more joined up I received no feedback so was left wondering is this normal for that dept to leave patients with no closure? The nhs is great for acute illnesses but for non life threatening illnesses like mine ( that I'm sure my consultant feels should just be of minor irritation to me), don't bother, just accept it, they are not interested.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal National Throat, Nose & Ear Hospital

Our objective is to continuously learn and improve services and any feedback enables us to do this. If our services ever fall short, concerns are always discussed so all staff are aware and all are committed to doing better. We are very sorry to read of your experiences and would like to investigate the issues you have raised. Please would you contact our PALS team so that we can take this forward? The contact details for PALS are, telephone number 020 3447 3042 (24 hr answering machine) or by email to pals@uclh.nhs.uk. Office hours Monday-Friday 9am - 4pm (except public holidays)

Updates, changes and questions related to this story