"Maternity service and complains"

About: North Middlesex Hospital

Anything else?

I had my baby to NorthMid and suffered a 4th degree tear .The treatment was horrible. There are short of midwifes . The hospital they do not follow up on woman with complication during child birth. They just send you home. I had no vaginal examination since I give birth.....i just found out that now i have balder prolapse and back passage problems......and I had to go to my GP.....and wait more that two months for a appointment. I got one on 24 of December...............the maternity service is not so good ....that is my experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from North Middlesex Hospital

I am very sorry to hear that you had such a difficult time during the birth of your baby, and I am concerned that you say you were not followed up. All women who have 4th degree tears need to be reviewed 6 weeks later by our specialist consultant and this appointment is normally given to you on discharge. The community midwife should have visited you at home as well? Please contact me by email as I would really like to discuss this with you and make sure that I can address the issues you have raised. Fiona Laird Head of Midwifery (f.laird@nhs.net)

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story