"After care? what after care"

About: King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

Anything else?

My dad had a major op that was done at a very high standard. The after care he is receiving now is far from good, the worst I have ever seen. I cant believe that hospital staff in a hospital that is supposed to be at such a high standard can be so uncaring and unwilling to help someone that is in so much pain. Waiting for over 4 hours for pain relief at one time and today all day. He was sweating, shaking, he couldn't even speak. They totaly ignored the alarm button for help and in the end we had to make a scene for someone to actualy look at him. When they could be bothered to see him they realised he had an infection and the tube he had in him had moved by CM's. As if recovering from a 6 and a 1/2 hour op isnt hard enough, the way he seems to be just forgotten about and left to get in such a bad way before anything is done i just dont get or understand. I'm not even going to start on the major lack of comunication.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

I am very sorry that you failed to receive acknowledgement of your concern in November. I hope that you were able to raise your concerns through another mechanism at the time but if that is not the case it would be very helpful if you would contact us to let us now which ward you were describing so that we could still act on your concerns. Our email contact is kch-tr.pals@nhs.net

Updates, changes and questions related to this story