"Dumped on ward"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

After being treated very well in day surgery I was taken to a ward after surgery and left in bed for 13 hours. My partner was not notified that I was on a ward and staying in over night he called hospital to find out how and where I was. Upon his arrival I was sick in my bed and asked staff to change my bedding which they did not until he complained again. The staff said they were busy having a handover . My pain relief medication was left on my table until I took it at 21:45. At 2 am I asked for more medication and was told that they would be back to give me some, no one came back until 6 am when I asked again. This time I received some. A very kind support worker came on duty and was very kind and offered me something to eat which I was very grateful for , not having eaten for over 24 hours. My dressings were then changed and I was allowed to go home, I had to wait at the end of the corridor on my own for my partner because he had to collect me with my 4 year old daughter with him. I was eager to get home where I knew there would be someone looking after me because during my overnight stay there was no one doing this correctly, Employ more support workers who are caring and considerate maybe throughout the night too when patients are vulnerable and alone, this experience has opened my eyes to the neglect that is continuously reported in the media .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the care you received during and after your surgery at our hospital. We are extremely concerned by your comments and the issues you have raised – this is not the kind of experience we would want anyone to have as a patient in our care. We always strive to provide the highest standard of care and we are very sorry if, on this occasion, our standards fell short of those we aim to provide. You have raised a number of issues which have been forwarded to the department responsible for surgery. However, it is difficult to comment on your specific case without your own details and reviewing your medical notes. We would urge you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 073 0517 so we can look into these concerns in more depth.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story