"Mixed bag. Poor patient information"

About: Worthing Hospital

Anything else?

On Tuesday I went for a follow up early pregnancy scan and was told the sad news that my twins had stopped developing at six weeks. The sonographer and nurse present were incredibly supportive, professional and caring and I have nothing but praise for them. I was then handed over to the ward team in the early pregnancy clinic where things really went downhill. This is my third consecutive misscarriage so I was naturally distraught and emotional but was treated with very little compassion. I chose the medical management option and was sent home and told to expect pain and for both babies egg sacs to pass. While I am happy with the aftercare plan they have for me, I was sent home with absolutely no understanding of what was about to happen to me. This is so wrong. As I was in pain I decided to have a bath to ease this four hours after being given the medication (as is recommended for a natural labour so I assumed I would be ok), unfortunately the medication then passed totally undissolved and I had to go back to the hospital and was told I can't bathe. Why wasn't I told this before? The following day I had some issues which were concerning me so decided to call the ward for some reassurance (I was told I could do this between 8am and 8pm). At 7:50pm I received an answerphone so left a message explaining my concerns and asking for a call back, at 10:45am the following day I phoned the ward again and was told that they had received my message but weren't going to call me back because the things I was concerned about were normal. I am in physical pain as well as a great deal of emotional pain and was not only given no understanding of what was going to happen to my body, I was actually told that they were going to ignore me and the fact that I was conscerned because they thought it was normal. I think that this is disgraceful behaviour towards any fellow human being, let alone one who is suffering and is putting their trust in you to look after them. I honestly believe that the lack of compassion and care show was disgusting and sincerely hope that the people involved never have to suffer at the hands of such a lack of care in what is supposed to be the care industry!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worthing Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us on your experience especially at such a distressing time. We are extremely disappointed and sorry to hear that you did not receive the information that you needed and were not treated in a caring and compassionate way by the staff in the early pregnancy clinic. We agree that this is not the level of care that you should expect and take your comments very seriously. NHS choices is confidential and we do not receive any information from them. If you would like to contact us directly to discuss your experience we would encourage you to do this by contacting our PALS department on 01903 285032 between 9am and 4.30pm Monday-Friday or email PALSWorthing@wsht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story