"Lost hospital file notes, no blood test results"

About: Derriford Hospital

Anything else?

Incompetent - Derriford unable to provide hospital file notes, even though urgently requested by the Peninsula treatment Centre. Delays recieving blood test results - longer than 48 hours. Other reports missing. Pure incompetence at the highest level. No idea what the left hand and the right hand are doing. Formal complaint done to the Exec and to local MP.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Mary Anderson, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Good afternoon

I am sorry to note that there was a delay in information crossing from Derriford Hospital to the Peninsula Treatment Centre and note that you have taken your concerns forward as a formal complaint with the Chief Executive of the Trust.

As this is the case, the formal complaints team will be working with the service line team responsible to investigate the circumstances and a formal response will follow from our Executive team.

I am sorry that you have had cause to complain.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story