"First pregnancy"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

First of all I would like to say that it is easy to see that hospital staff are worked extremely hard, are under a lot of pressure and are under resourced. In Feb of this year my wife was unfortunate to miscarry, which we didn't find out until the 12 wk scan. We saw the department head I believe and she was absolutely fantastic and caring. The nurses in the GAU were without a doubt fantasic in their care, kindness and consideration for my wife in an upsetting situation. Also the consultant at the time was the best we could have hoped for. However, after a shift changeover, in order to be discharged, due to their not being a consultant in the department, one had to be called from the maternity ward instead. She couldn't speak very good English, did not read my wife's notes, was rude and annoyed at having to come and see us, and above all was very unsympathetic, asking upsetting questions that had already been answered if she had taken the time to read the notes. My wife is now coming up to 16 weeks and due to previous complications, had a scan at 5,7 and 11 weeks with another one planned within the next 2 weeks. The level of care we have received during this pregnancy and the detailed observation has been fantastic and I would like to thank the staff for their hard work. We all know the NHS is under resourced, understaffed, staffed by some uncaring people in places, placed under huge pressure due to the burden of over population. However, when staff at Leicester Maternity department make such an effort as they have done in our situation, it goes someway to restoring our faith that there is still some humanity and selflessness still left in today's unkind and uncaring society. Thank you again and myself and my wife thank you for your ongoing care and attention.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a largely positive experience at Leicester's Hospitals and have passed your kind words on to the Maternity Service - the team will be so pleased. We are glad that your opinion of the Royal's maternity unit wasn't tarnished. Thank you again for feedback. Kind regards Communications Team Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story