About: Dewsbury & District Hospital

Anything else?

I was due to have my baby in dewsbury, went in first to be assessed as was having contractions told I was 2cm dialated but told I had to stay in cause of high blood pressure was moved up to triage at 4am onto a ward with 5 other people all asleep which was awkward plus they sent my partner home and said he could come back at 8. I was left til 10am checked my blood pressure then was sent home. Went to my midwife appointment and she examined me and said I was in established labour 4-5cm dialated and told me to go back hosp when I couldn't cope, so ended up going back at around 2ish was kept in the waiting room for over an hour and half finally seen a midwife told me I was 4cm dialated and to go home take 2 paracetamol and get some sleep.. she was rude unhelpful couldn't care less, was awful. by this time I'd had enough left and was determined I wasn't going back there. Luckily Ended up being transferred to pinderfields midwifes were a lot nicer the delivery suite was lovely clean and a nice atmosphere compared to dewsbury. Dewsbury is run down old and tatty needs completely refurbishing. Will never go back there for anything!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Dewsbury & District Hospital

We are pleased that you had a good experience at Pinderfields and are sorry that you were so disappointed at Dewsbury. We will be pleased to investigated the negative aspects if you would like to contact us directly.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story