"Disgusting"

About: Royal United Hospital

Anything else?

I am a 19 year old female who has suffered with epilepsy since I was 14. I was recently discharged from the children's outpatients where I saw a wonderful consultant who helped me grow in confidence throughout the years. I was gutted to be finishing my appointments with him but excited to get my questions answered by someone who does neurology as a profession. I showed up for my appointment hoping to be seen on time but was sat waiting with my mum for 1 hour 30 minutes with no explanation from the receptionist (I work in a dental practise as a nurse and whenever my dentist runs late I must always see the patient and explain that we're running late and then apologise, but I didn't even get an apology!) I asked my mum to come in with me as my memory isn't the best and I had a lot of questions I needed answers to. I get called in by a young lady who seems nice, she walks me into a room where there are two men, one is the neurologist and the other is a student (the lady was also a student.) I had no warning that I would have 2 students sitting in and listening to my personal business, (again, when my assessor comes into the dental practise I must ensure the patients are happy with her being in the room but once again I wasn't even asked) He started by saying my appointment was 2 months early (I've been suffering badly with the medication and was referred by my GP) and he then looked at my mum as if she shouldn't be there. My first question was about the weight gain I've had since being on the medication (which is a clear side effect in every leaflet and even my GP said.) However, the neurologist wasn't having any of it and told me not to look at the meds but to look at myself, he called me obese (he doesn't even know what I weigh) and said I'm damaging my health and could have sleep apnea?! My mum immediately stuck up for me as I eat extremely healthy and exercise at the gym 5 days a week. He ignored my mum and said "I'm not going to argue with you about it" I have been bullied for years over my weight and the last person I need to bully me is the exact person that is meant to be helping me. I think it's disgusting and my family have written a formal complaint, I hope he gets taught some people skills! I will never see this neurologist again, all I was to him was another patient and to me it looked like he didn't even want to be there, even the students had shocked expressions when he was accusing me of being obese. I am sickened by the service provided at the RUH neurology and hope that nobody else ever has to go through the embarrassment and amount of tears I shed after that appointment.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal United Hospital

We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit to the RUH’s Neurology Department, and we would like more details so that we can investigate this further. Please could you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01225 825656 or via email at ruh-tr.PatientAdviceandLiaisonService@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story