" In my opinion the driving was dangerous and put me in danger."

About: South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

(as other),

One evening recently I was driving though Failand towards Clevedon when a fast responder Ambulance car overtook a car that was travelling in the opposite direction towards Bristol. I had to slam my breaks on as otherwise I think I would have had a head on car crash with the ambulance car. The Ambulance car did not have its blue lights on or sirens and was travelling well over the 40mph speed limit. In my opinion the driving was dangerous and put me in danger.

I am under the impression they are meant to help people in a safe manner and not cause accidents. If the blue lights had 'failed', the driver would have been able to see this as the road is pitch black, so for me this would not be a valid reason for the drivers actions. I only noticed it was an ambulance car as it was alongside me. It was not clear because of the darkness of the road. I called 101 and reported it but was advised to contact yourselves. I look forward to your reply on this matter.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sara Coburn, Patient Engagement Manager, Governance, South Western Ambulance Service Foundation Trust

Hi Sarah05

Thank you for sharing your experience with us - I am sorry that you felt that that this driver put you in danger.

You have given some detail about the incident, however in order to fully investigate we will need the registration details of the vehicle. If you can provide this, or would like to discuss this matter further, please contact our Patient Experience Team on either SWAST.patientexperience@nhs.net or 01392 261 585.

Thank you, again, for taking the time to provide feedback.


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story