"Parking eye"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

Anything else?

I recently had an appointment at physiotherapy, and paid £1.50 parking, (£1.20 per hour no change given).I was not expecting to be any more than 1 hour. However, I was referred from physio to A&E, where I remained for another 2 hours and had to report back to physio. Upon my return to the car I put in another £1.50. The notice on the 'money machine' also states that up to 20 minutes is free. So I have paid £3.00, was there for 3 hours and 5 minutes, perhaps 20 minutes could have been free??? However, today a fine of £40.00, £70.00 if not paid within 14 days has come through my door. If you phone the number that is supplied you get a recorded message telling you how to pay-no real person at the end. So to cut a long story short, I am not happy, feel that I have paid for parking, although probably 60p short, by their reckoning. I will now write to the local press and to the Chief Executive to inform them of my (and no doubt many others) displeasure. This is an absolutely appalling way to treat patients and visitors alike who may not be aware of their length of stay

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam I was very sorry to read about your recent experience of the new car parking system.  We understand that there is always a period of settling with any new system and we do want to do all we can to make it easier for patients and their families to use. We would never want any visitors to our hospitals to receive a parking fine that is unjust or unfair. You believed you had paid the correct amount for the time owed and so I can understand why you are frustrated at receiving a parking fine. We would really like to help if we can. Please email me at Joanne.mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk Best Wishes

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

picture of Annie Laverty

Just to update you that the outcome of this. The Trust has made an important change and reached an agreement which will result in the termination of the management contract with Parking Eye on all Northumbria premises.

I hope this provides you with some assurance of our determination to listen and respond to the needs of our patients and the local people we serve.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

With all best wishes,

Annie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story