"Visit to A&E for skin tear to arm"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

My sister took me to A&E after her dog caught my arm with his paw causing a skin tear. The consultant I saw was great! However the nurse sent to attend my wound did not seem to know what to do. She opened a sterile pack and put on the gloves but then decided to go outside the cubicle in her sterile gloves and came back with only one of the sterile gloves on and a blue glove one on the other hand. She poured some saline onto my wound and never cleaned under the flap of skin or attempted to straighten it out. She then started putting tiny steristrips onto my wound (about 0.5 inches max) without placing the skin together, so I told her that she had to try and place the torn skin to my normal skin to stop it scaring a lot, but she just plastered my skin with tiny steristrips. My daughter who is a ICU nurse changed the dressing on day 5 as I was told, but she was not happy because it was weeping and told me I should leave the steristrips for a full 7 days, as she was worried the cut would open up. Today I took the steristrips off, and was shocked at the state of my arm. The skin is curled up at the ends, it nowhere meets up with my undamaged skin, and all the edges with no skin on are weeping, plus tip of the skin flap is going black. I am sorry to say I would not recommend the treatment I received from the nurse, and my arm will be terribly scarred. I am going to my GP tomorrow to show him what a mess my arm is in.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read the concerns you raised and to learn that your experience was not as positive as we would hope in October. It is important to us that comments are heard and we see them as an opportunity to make changes and improvements. In response to your comment we understand that you have also written to the Patient Advice and Liaison Service and we would like to assure you that your concerns are being addressed. Your concerns have also been raised directly with the staff and department involved so that they can look into them so that others don't experience the same issues as you did. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read the concerns you raised and to learn that your experience was not as positive as we would hope in October. It is important to us that comments are heard and we see them as an opportunity to make changes and improvements.

In response to your comment we understand that you have also written to the Patient Advice and Liaison Service and we would like to assure you that your concerns are being addressed. Your concerns have also been raised directly with the staff and department involved so that they can look into them so that others don't experience the same issues as you did.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Updates, changes and questions related to this story