"Total confusion and disorganisation."

About: Darent Valley Hospital

Anything else?

Our son had initial kidney stone 'zapping' in June. Told they would book him a follow-up. Booked date for July but did not tell him. Wrote to them and left several voicemail messages asking them to call back as non-one ever answered the 'phone. Only one voicemail call back from someone who said she was now in the office but would be leaving at 3.30pm. That was 3.28. Eventually he got through and made an appintment for today. We both took time off and travelled up to be there before 8am. (He would not be able to drive after the op). At 9.15 the surgeon came down to apologise that he would not be able to carry out the procedure because our son's notes had been lost. He said that last week he had had several procedures booked in but 8 had not turned up because they had not been told. For us - further delay in our son's treatment, mental and emotional build-up etc, lost work, time, travelling, car parking, etc. For the hospital would it not be better to spend a bit more to appoint and pay staff who can do the job to save the costs of the surgeons and all the other overheads, and keep the waiting lists down? We are told that we spend increasing amounts on NHS managers, then why are they in such a mess?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and we are extremely sorry that your experiences with Darent Valley have not been favourable ones. We fully appreciate your frustration and disappointment and do apologise that on these occasions we did not meet the standards to which we aspire. We would be very interested to hear more about your comments and investigate how this happened. So please if you don't mind could you contact us on the details below?

Best wishes

The Communication Team

Darent Valley Hospital

01322 428655

sue.daniels@dvh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and we are extremely sorry that your experiences with Darent Valley have not been favourable ones. We fully appreciate your frustration and disappointment and do apologise that on these occasions we did not meet the standards to which we aspire. We would be very interested to hear more about your comments and investigate how this happened. So please if you don't mind could you contact us on the details below? Best wishes The Communication Team Darent Valley Hospital 01322 428655 sue.daniels@dvh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story