"childrens blood test"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Having taken my 7 year old son out of school & me time off work, and almost an hour to park, went to the blood clinic 23/9/13 having checked the website which states you dont need an appointment, got turned away by a very rude member of staff, telling me website states children under 8 need an appointment & walked off, how very rude, does'nt say much for caring for children, i later made an appointment with a helpful member of staff, somebody cares in that department, maybe some manners should be shown in this place. Thank you that one person who cared that day.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, I am sorry to read your comments about your recent visit and would like to thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns. The staff member was correct about booking appointments for children under 8 and this information is listed on our website here www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/aboutus/departments-services/childrens-services/childrengpbloods. However, that does not excuse the rudeness of the staff member you spoke with. I would like the opportunity to look into this further for you, so ask that you contact me directly at Liz.James@uhl-tr.nhs.uk so I can follow this up. Kind regards Liz James Children’s Matron

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story