"receptionist at minor injuries unit yesterday."

Anything else?

Something was going on when I arrived, fire engines and pumping equipment. But there was nothing to stop me going into the building, nursing the cut on my hand from my seccateurs. The receptionist acknowledged me and we had a short exchange. She asked me if I could see the lights were out. Yes, I said. Well, obviously we have no electricity............... Duh. That means we're closed. So stupid of me. Sarcasm and low level rudeness, superiority, dismissiveness. Thanks. Drove to Sevenoaks where I was treated as a human being.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Edenbridge Hospital

Hello, We're sorry you were not able to be seen when you attended the Minor Injury Unit at Edenbridge, and we apologise that you felt you were treated with sarcasm and rudeness. On the day you attended the Trust was in the process of closing the facilities and evacuating in-patient beds due to flooding in the basement which had cut off the power. Whilst there were notices put up and staff on the scene to explain the situation it may have been that at the point you arrived the notices had not been put up. We apologise for any inconvenience, and it is not acceptable that you were responded to rudely. Your comments will be passed to the manager of the reception staff. We are pleased you had a positive experience when you subsequently attened Sevenoaks Minor Injury Unit (MIU) and we hope that should you need a MIU in future you will feel able to go to Edenbridge. If you want to contact us to discuss what happened please use the contact details below. Best wishes Customer Care Team Kent Community Health NHS Trust Tel: 0300 123 1807 Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story