"Orthopaedics department - terrible."

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Initially dealt with via CATS and saw a physiotherapist who didn't seem to know what she was doing and who basically gave up on me after two sessions of vaguely rubbing my neck. The department then managed to lose all my notes and went silent for three months after which I basically had to start from scratch, seen by a much more competent chap who referred me on to one of the orthopaedic consultants. Who turned out to be a rude, dismissive consultant that didn't listen to me (basing everything of an MRI scan which showed nothing), prescribed treatment that I've already had (that hasn't worked previously) and put me on drugs but then refused to reply to my GP's multiple requests to provide a titration regimen. Why bother if you're not going to follow through with information? A recent visit to a timed follow-up appointment resulted in a 90 minute delay (with absolutely no explanation or apology) in seeing the consultant. Except it wasn't the consultant, it was a registrar. I've yet to see the same person twice on my numerous visits to Orthopaedics. Where is the continuity of care? On this particular occasion I was asked somewhat dismissively if I'd "tried Ibuprofen" for the pain. That's the severe pain that I've been in constantly for the last seven years. If I wasn't in so much pain it'd be funny. Instead it's just insulting and depressing.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry to hear that you have been suffering with pain for the last seven years. It sounds like you have had a difficult time with your consultations both within the CAT service and within Orthopaedics.

We normally pride ourselves on having excellent patient feedback and are therefore keen to be able to investigate your concerns, in order that we can speak to the departments and clinicians involved and improve the service for our patients in the future.

If you would like us to investigate your concerns further, please contact me on Mandy.Espey@dbh.nhs.uk.

Warm wishes, Mandy

Mandy Espey, General Manager for Trauma & Orthopaedics

Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

We are sorry to hear that you have been suffering with pain for the last seven years. It sounds like you have had a difficult time with your consultations both within the CAT service and within Orthopaedics. We normally pride ourselves on having excellent patient feedback and are therefore keen to be able to investigate your concerns, in order that we can speak to the departments and clinicians involved and improve the service for our patients in the future. If you would like us to investigate your concerns further, please contact me on Mandy.Espey@dbh.nhs.uk. Warm wishes, Mandy Mandy Espey, General Manager for Trauma & Orthopaedics

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story