"A nightmare 3 days"

About: St Mary's Hospital (London)

Anything else?

First of all, A&E staff were awesome. First class. Brilliant. However, in the Samuel Lane ward......appalling staff who were rude, obnoxious, inconsiderate, made me feel like I was something stuck to their shoe, hardly spoke to me about anything, constantly ignored my alarm call, gave me my painkiller medicine hours late, sent me home missing an important medicine.....I could go on...... An example. I was told at 9:30 by a consultant that pain relief was my only treatment option so I could go home with painkillers. At 12, a co-ordinator told me my transport would be here in an hour. Nothing came all day. At 9:30 I was given morphine, tramadol, paracetamol and ibuprofen. I was in pain, hence the need. And the drugs made me feel very nauseous. At 10, I was told that my transport would arrive at 11pm to take me home. I said I couldn't go home as I live in Southampton so it would be at least 1am before I got there and also because I was very nauseous, which was in fact why I was having a certain type of transport home. I was then lied to when told the transport had come from 'very far away' to collect me. I was told someone else needed my bed. It took 15 minutes for the nurse to leave me be (with no offer of my anti-nausea drugs btw). She then spent the next hour slamming cupboard doors. And despite being in pain I had to lift a refuse bin away from my room door to close it. And the following morning, no staff would speak to me. A further example. This morning I woke in pain at 7:30 after little sleep. I pressed my call button. Nothing for 15 minutes. Then someone came and I asked for my prescribed painkillers. Nothing came. I pressed my button again at 8:05. Someone came straight away and said she would fix it. Nothing. Then, a nurse came in and stuck a notice on the wall of my room which said 'This is to inform all the patients that the side rooms are for particular patients and you could be moved out from them as soon as required. Thank you. Management'. Clearly this related to the incident above. Is this how you want to communicate with your patients? Who are sick and in pain? Was it written by your management? Still no painkillers btw but I did eventually get them at 8:30. I complained to the nurse who gave me them and she said she was unaware that I needed them. Why hasn't she been told? Further retribution for the night before? I complained to my nurse and she said she would ask the senior nurse to come and see me. Despite me reminding her a few times this never happened.... One more example. On Sunday morning I was in tears with pain and pressed the button as moving hurt. Nothing for 10 minutes despite voices outside. Then someone came in. 'What would you like for breakfast' she said. I don't I replied, I would like some pain relief please. She said 'I'm sorry but I'm just the breakfast lady' and walked off without even telling anyone. I wish I has more than 3000 characters as these are just a few examples....

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read of your experience. This is clearly not the standard of care that we aim to provide and we would like to apologise for the distress caused. We also apologise for the delay in responding to your comments, we have only just been alerted to this posting! Your feedback has been passed to senior managers. You have, however, raised some significant concerns and clearly have other concerns to share. To enable the Trust to investigate your concerns we hope that you will contact our PALS service pals@imperial.nhs.uk so that we can work with you to address the issues you have raised with regard to your care on our orthopeadic ward.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story