"Dreadful"

About: Christchurch Hospital

Anything else?

I went to see two rheumatologists concerning a neck trauma. They were extremely unhelpful and my symptoms have not improved at all. One was also judgemental implying that the reason that I had pain was because I wasn't working hard enough at my physiotherapy. I had also been told that my pain was a 'learnt response'. I discovered this year that they were unable to analyse my MRI correctly in that I have many bone spurs and also a cyst within the damaged disc itself. My current surgeon has stated that this cyst was evident in an x-ray in 2011! The bone spurs are putting pressure on nerves and I have generalised weakness now down one side of my body. I am now having to investigate having private spinal surgery abroad as is simply do not trust these doctors. Would never return to this hospital under any circumstances.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sue Mellor, Patient Experience Lead, Royal Bournemouth & Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear ‘Anonymous’

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it inform our services.

I am so disappointed that we have not met your expectations of the compassionate care we endeavour to provide. In this event I would ask that, rather than answering your feedback in full, you allow me a couple of weeks to review your comments and make contact with some lead clinicians.

If you would like to speak with anyone before then please contact PALS on 01202 704886.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback

Sue Mellor

Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Christchurch Hospital

Dear ‘Anonymous’ Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it inform our services. I am so disappointed that we have not met your expectations of the compassionate care we endeavour to provide. In this event I would ask that, rather than answering your feedback in full, you allow me a couple of weeks to review your comments and make contact with some lead clinicians. If you would like to speak with anyone before then please contact PALS on 01202 704886. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback Sue Mellor Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Sue Mellor, Patient Experience Lead, Royal Bournemouth & Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for your patience and sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

Having been in contact with the Senior Clinicians, they are deeply concerned by your comments and feel that based on the information you have placed in your feedback, you would require a considered review. They recognise that you have posted a complex feedback and without details are unable to respond in a specific manner. They have suggested that you return to your GP and discuss the situation with them as they will be familiar with your history and able to reassure you as to the options available to you on the NHS. They may assure you that you can see a different consultant at our Trust or perhaps arrange for you to see a consultant in another local Trust.

We naturally do not want you to have a lack of confidence in the services we provide and would like to find a way to reassure you, please do contact our PALS service if you wish via 01202 704886 or email pals@rbch.nhs.uk

I am sorry that we have not managed to provide the quality of care we aspire to and wish you well in the future

Sue Mellor

Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story