"cath and her appendix"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

The staff on ward s12 are fantastic!!!! The nursing staff that were on the surgical assessment ward need further training in respect,dignity,kindness and empathy.Im a carer myself and understand the staffing levels and the busy environment but their is no excuse for the way the nurses were while i was on there.They left me for hours whilst i was in pain,scared and very upset.It is ridiculous that patients cannot have any pain relief whilst constantly waiting for doctors.I was waiting many hours in pain before i saw a doctor and by then i had already suffered in a way i wouldn't let my dog suffer.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

We are really sorry that you had a bad experience while on the surgical assessment ward at DRI. All our staff take great pride in the level of care they provide and it is disappointing when we do not do this. Your comments have been fed back to the clinical lead and the acute care lead and we are already doing some work with our medical team to increase their availability to assess patients.

Your comments will feed into this and help us make this improvement. Although we know this won't change your own experience, we can assure you that we are taking action and we would like to thank you again for your feedback.

Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

We are really sorry that you had a bad experience while on the surgical assessment ward at DRI. All our staff take great pride in the level of care they provide and it is disappointing when we do not do this. Your comments have been fed back to the clinical lead and the acute care lead and we are already doing some work with our medical team to increase their availability to assess patients. Your comments will feed into this and help us make this improvement. Although we know this won't change your own experience, we can assure you that we are taking action and we would like to thank you again for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story