"Atrocious services"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Anything else?

My husband was admitted for a hernia repair and bariatric procedure the staff of the sandbourne suite were polite and reassuring, my husband was understandably nervous about the general anesthesia but found the anesthesiologist exceptional reassuring and highly competent . However as soon as he was returned to the ward things went downhill rapidly. There was no attempt to make him comfortable his very heavy overnight bag was left dumped beside him on the bed due to the surgical procedure he was unable to lift it himself, because of this he was highly restricted in the bed unable to get comfortable or have sufficient room to move! No one paid the slightest attention to him. He was desperate for a bottle as he was unable to get out of bed to use the toilet despite repeated requests and being exceadingly uncomfortable it was over 1 and a half hours before a bottle was brought despite him being able to see various members of staff chatting, laughing and clearly socialising just outside his bay this is unexceptable and left my husband in considerable discomfort and distress .All of the patients except one were nil by mouth and yet a food trolley was brought In and left for some time very inconsiderate to everyone unable to eat bar this one gentleman. In the evening the staff made their rounds with medication and so on yet not one person asked if my husband required any assistance. Or even if he was ok , he was in some discomfort despite requests for help not one member if staff assisted him by lowering the headrest or making his pillows comfortable the window was left wide open and his bedside table was left constantly out of reach the staff did not even bother to close curtains correctly at visiting times I was left trying to make my husband comfortable meanwhile the gentleman beside us was left with curtains wide open while his naked bottom was left on display for all to see utterly undignified and unexceptable . To top off a dreadful lack of basic nursing care he was told he could go home at 9:30 am only to have to stay in hospital in a bed that could of been some use to others until 6:30 pm waiting for the same medication he had brought with him . These issues along with other examples of disgusting staff attitude and total disrespect for patients must be addressed . I've lost all faith in what used to be a fantastic hospital now it appears that certain areas cannot even get basic care and nursing standards correct . Thank you to the theatre staff the only positive part of a dreadful stay

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sue Mellor, Patient Experience Lead, Royal Bournemouth & Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your husband’s experience as a patient with us

We truly appreciate the positive feedback regarding Sandbourne and Theatres and will pass it on to the staff involved. However it is very disappointing to hear that we did not attain the care levels that we aspire to throughout the rest of your husband’s journey. I am going to ensure that we take time to review each element of your posting and we will consider your husband’s experience and the poor standards of care he received. May I apologise in advance and ensure you that when we review each element we will respond within a two week time frame. May I please let you know that the overwhelming majority of the feedback we receive is positive and I am so sorry that your husband’s stay was below our normal standards. If, in the meantime, you wish to discuss this further please contact our PALS office on 01202 704886 or email pals@rbch.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear anonymous Thank you for taking the time to highlight your husband’s experience as a patient with us We truly appreciate the positive feedback regarding Sandbourne and Theatres and will pass it on to the staff involved. However it is very disappointing to hear that we did not attain the care levels that we aspire to throughout the rest of your husband’s journey. I am going to ensure that we take time to review each element of your posting and we will consider your husband’s experience and the poor standards of care he received. May I apologise in advance and ensure you that when we review each element we will respond within a two week time frame. May I please let you know that the overwhelming majority of the feedback we receive is positive and I am so sorry that your husband’s stay was below our normal standards. If, in the meantime, you wish to discuss this further please contact our PALS office on 01202 704886 or email pals@rbch.nhs.uk

Response from Sue Mellor, Patient Experience Lead, Royal Bournemouth & Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

We have looked into your comments and note that the date specifies 2012. As we are not sure if this is purely a typing error we diligently reviewed other aspects of your comments. The Ward Sister is dismayed by the standard of care your feedback has reflected and would welcome an opportunity to either discuss with you in person or if you would prefer anonymity asks that you would contact our PALS office on 01202 704886

We are very sad that the standards of care obviously did not meet either yours or our expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story