"Most disgusting treatment I have ever received..."

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

Anything else?

After I was given my course of action by the senior surgeon I prepared for a nap only to have a porter come to inform I was being moved yet again. At this point I was taken to Syon 1after being rushed by the porter as it was close to his finishing time. I was placed into another extremely hot room and this when I asked for a fan I was told if I wanted one I better bring one from home. For the rest of the evening I had to suffer and drip of sweat as there was absolutely no ventilation. I managed on the ward that night however with minimal complaints other than the bathroom had to be cleaned. There was poo on the floor and throw up in the sink. The next morning I noticed my body was reacting to the antibiotics and I immediately informed a nurse. It took well over 4 hours before a doctor came to see me at 2 pm. I was prescribed further medication. At 10 pm I still had not received the newly prescribed medication and when I questioned it as well as my 2 hr late course of antibiotics I was told the pharmacy was closed at that point and I would have to wait til morning. I would also have to wait for my 2hr late antibiotics. Several minutes later a older woman began screaming out asking for water as she could not reach it. I witnessed several members of staff in the area at the time however her screams went unanswered for over 20 mins. In hindsight my next move was foolish however I got out of my bed to see if assist the woman. When I did so I was rudely approached by a nurse and told to mind my own business and let her so her job. I was so disgusted at that point I began to argue with her stating that the people in this hospital are treated worse than animals. At that point the nurse told me she wont be giving me my medication. That infuriated me causes me to argue louder with her drawing the attention of another staff member. When I asked if I could speak to a supervisor I was told there wasnt one on duty. When I asked for the nurses name who had threatened me as she was not wearing a name tag I was denied that information. When I asked how do I go about filing a complaint I was also denied that information. After that incident I was totally frustrated with the care I had received and decided to discharge myself from West Middlesex. I have never in my life been treated that way and I have been in hospitals in 4 different countries around the world. I have filed a complaint and am very curious to how this situation will be handled . At no point in time should anyone admitted to a health institution be denied care. Disgusting!!!!!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

We are dismayed to learn of your treatment at our hospital and we are very sorry for the events you describe. Clearly these do not meet the high standards we always aim for. You have raised a number of serious issues which we are currently investigating as a matter of urgency, and we will reply to your formal complaint in line the NHS complaints procedure. Thank you for taking time to inform us of your experience as this will enable us to improve in our overall standard of care to all of our patients.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story