About: Hull Royal Infirmary

(as a relative),

What I liked


What could be improved

Communication per se. There was a complete lack of information transfer between patient and staff. There was also no communication between staff, in terms of patient information being passed on from one nurse to another. The person I was visiting waited numerous hours for basic treatment (replacement of a saline drip). The patient had the planned operation cancelled on five occasions, and had been nil by mouth for 6 days, but was only told the op had been cancelled very late in the eveningon each occasion. One would then think the food & drink would then be offered, but this was not the case. The quality of care was very poor.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Engagement Section Assistant, NHS Hull

Dear Anonymous 3 Thank you for your comments about communication at our local hospitals placed on this website via NHS Choices. We have asked our colleagues at Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust to look into the concerns you have raised, but regret without more information this would be difficult. They will take on board the points you have raised, but should you wish to discuss this in more detail please do not hesitate to contact their Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 01482 623065 or by email. NHS Hull is the organisation responsible for deciding how money is spent on local health services [also known as commissioning], ensuring those services are of high quality and meet local needs. We value all feedback and if you would like to discuss this matter further with us, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 01482 335409 or by email. Should you wish to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, all local health Trusts are recruiting ‘members’. By becoming a member you can receive advice on keeping yourself and your family healthy, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member, you just need to have an interest in local services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose. For more information please either by email or telephone 01482 675165. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local services.
  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful