"Hygiene standards at Dr Grays "

About: Dr Gray's Hospital / General Medicine

(as other),

I visited the temporary reception area for 'day patients' to collect a patient today, whilst in the waiting room a workman arrived to fix the TV screen, he proceeded to stand on two armchairs adjacent to the TV with his outdoor work boots on-there was no barrier on the chairs. This raises several issues e. g. health & safety working at height regulations, working without proper equipment etc, and more seriously basic hygiene, I did report this to the duty receptionist who said the chairs would be wiped down later. Clearly there is a lack of standards in both the hospital & contractors. I used the 'hand rub' on both taking the patient in & when collecting. Sufficient to say workmen's boots are subjected to all sorts of conditions and could be carrying numerous bacteria into a vulnerable area.

I trust appropriate actions will be taken to ensure proper hygiene standards are not compromised within Dr Grays hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Linda Oldroyd, Nurse Consultant Patient Safety and Experience, NHS Grampian

Dear pompy

We very much appreciate you taking the time to post this feedback. You are quire right to raise concerns about hygiene and health a saftey. We will ensure that this is passed on to senior managers.

We send our best wishes to the patient you were collecting and hope that he or she is recovering well.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by pompy (other)

Dear Ms Oldroyd,

Having read your response I can only view it as a very basic concoction of platitudes--- Dictionary meaning-platitude-noun, an empty, unoriginal or redundant comment, especially one made as though it were important. I raised these matters with genuine concerns especially hygiene, the workmans boots were of the style, e.g. calf length tan safety boots, the nature of the job is such that they are not cleaned every night for the following morning, who knows- he may have waded through mud, sludge or even sewage during the period prior to working in the hospital, equally bad is the complete lack of standards and awareness communicated to workmen on site at the hospital. Albeit the contractor has responsibility the onus is on hospital management to ensure legal & hygiene standards are applied to every employee.

I hope any further responses show positive actions taken by the authorities to ensure higher standards are in place and not rely on you to defend their shortcomings.

Tell them not to say this was 'an isolated incident' from the manner of the workmans actions it was obvious that this was common practice.

It appeared the receptionist had no knowledge/training on health & safety or basic hygiene standards even for their own benefit.

Sidenote, I wonder if the mother, wife or partner of the workman would allow him to stand on their armchairs in the home with his dirty workboots on.

Response from Linda Oldroyd, Nurse Consultant Patient Safety and Experience, NHS Grampian

Dear pompy

I am sorry that you viewed our response as a mere platitude for that was not intended. The intention was to indicate that we had viewed your posting and were acting on it. Our Director of Estates has investigated the incident and has responded as below.

"Feedback from the Dr Gray’s team is that this was one of our construction contractors engaged on the various works there. The incident as described breaches our management of contractor arrangements and this will be formally raised with them at our next performance review meeting. Recurring breaches will inform contractor selection ahead. Grateful for the feedback".

I hope this additional information reassures you that health and safety and hygiene standards are indeed taken very seriously by NHS Grampian.

The level of knowledge of the receptionist, as you indicate, would not be what we would expect of public facing, or indeed any NHS Grampian staff members. This issue is being addressed through line management structures.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch again if you remain unsatisfied with our response.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story