"Treatment from dental services & A&E"

About: Victoria Hospital / Accident & Emergency Victoria Hospital / Dental Victoria Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

I had a wisdom tooth removed by the outreach department at Victoria Hospital. Two days later I was in severe pain, had severe facial swelling and trismus. I contacted the outreach department for advice and help and was advised to contact my own dentist.

I did this and was crying in pain and begging to be seen by a dentist. I was however told that there was no dentist available to see me that day. I insisted that I must see a dentist and was told that the receptionist would call me back. She did call back within 30 minutes and advised me that the dentist thought it was dry socket and had arranged a prescription for me. As I was unable to open my mouth and was having to force painkillers through the tiny space between my teeth I knew that I would find it difficult to get the antibiotics into my mouth. I contacted the dentist again to ask if they could request suspension medication and was told by the receptionist that the dentist was in a meeting all day and this would not be possible. I was then advised to crush the tablets and in a few days I would be able to open my mouth again.

I did this and struggled through the day until in the early hours of the morning my airway became involved and I attended A&E. My experience of A&E was in huge contrast to my experience with the dental service. A&E was excellent. I was seen by the triage nurse within 5 - 10 minutes of arrival. She at once recognised that I was very ill and took me to see a doctor straight away. Tests, treatments and referral to specialists were all carried out very quickly. I was kept fully informed and all the staff were caring, considerate and very professional. I was well cared for and was in emergency surgery that morning. I think I could not have been cared for any better by the staff in A&E that day.

I do however feel that the standard of care provided by the dental service was very poor.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Louise Ewing, Patient Relations Manager, NHS Fife

picture of Louise Ewing

Dear “Poppet 2”

Thank you for taking the time to post following your recent experience. Toothache is a painful thing and I was sorry to hear of the trouble you had following your extraction. I do hope it has settled now.

When we receive a post, our normal practice is to pass it on to the service to make sure they receive the feedback and to enable them to take any necessary actions to make things better in the future. In your case I have already been able to share your positive comments with the A/E team who very much appreciated your kind words.

I would however also like to share the not so positive feedback and to seek a response from the service. To do so however, I need to clarify the exact locations and on that basis it would be helpful if you would consider contacting me directly to discuss the details further. This would enable me to take forward your comments. My contact details are included at the end of this response. It might be possible for you to share further details on the Patient Opinion website too.

I do appreciate that you may not wish to contact me directly, in which case I will forward the posting on to our community dental services, explaining the situation.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post.

Regards

Louise Ewing

Patient Relations Manager

NHS Fife

01592 648153

louise.ewing@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Louise Ewing, Patient Relations Manager, NHS Fife

picture of Louise Ewing

Dear "Poppet 2"

Thank you for contacting me directly and speaking to me about your experience. I do hope that the additional information I was able to source is helpful in terms of allowing you to pursue the specific issues with your dental practice.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards

Louise Ewing

Patient Relations Manager

NHS Fife

01592 648153

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story