"Do patients get a say in their own care anymore......"

About: Broomfield Hospital

Anything else?

I attended an appointment with a dermatologist yesterday at 10am. Despite being delayed by 45 minutes I was very impressed by the easy and simple appointment system that was in place at Broomfield Hospital. I am however very disappointed and upset by the very rude and arrogant attitude of the consultant I finally got to see after quite a few months on a waiting list and many more months before that waiting to be referred..... None of which I'm sure even entered his mind when seeing patients. I was led into the room by a very friendly nurse and asked to "be seated and wait for the doctor" who was sitting at his desk writing up another patients notes from a previous appointment. I waited a good 5 minutes for him to finish his notes to then speak to me, in the mean time this was very awkward indeed and I don't understand why I was brought in so early. When he did finally speak to me he read my notes and instantly told me what I was going to have as treatment rather than examining me and asking me what I thought or indeed felt. The worst thing despite this was that he did not even not listen to me when I tried to explain the issue. I tried to ask questions as to what the treatment was but he talked over me as if I hadn't even said anything. As far as he was concerned he knew best and according to his medical bible it was the best course of treatment. He actually made me feel like I wanted to cry out of desperation for him to just listen to me and take my opinion into account. I was then handed a prescription and an appointment card but just as I was being ushered out of the room by the nurse she realised the consultant had given me another patients paperwork.... Then as I was about to leave the room for the second time the consultant asked me if I had any questions....I was so upset by this point I just wanted to leave. This consultant evidently thinks that patients are a nuisance and they should not have a say in their own care. He treated me with contempt and as if I was wasting his time and I feel that he is bringing down the excellent work the other staff bring to the hospital. I am not one for writing reviews normally but I felt compelled to speak up!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience at our Dermatology Department. We always aim to deliver high quality care to all of our patients, and as such I would be grateful if you could contact me either via email at helen.west@meht.nhs.uk or on 01245 514460 with details about the consultant you saw so we might take this further.

Many thanks

Helen

Response from Jonathan Wright, Patient Experience & Voluntary Services Manager, Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust

picture of Jonathan Wright

Further to the post from my colleague I would like to thank you for posting on NHS Choices, we welcome people sharing experiences that they have whilst using our services without them we cannot praise and share the good and equally share, challenge and change the bad. What you have described is totally unacceptable and I have made the Trust Medical Director aware of the comments. We are currently working in partnership with a multi-national retailer to deliver customer service training to our staff at all levels.

So that we can make improvements, help and investigate your experience further I would appreciate you contacting me at 01245 514577 jonathan.wright@meht.nhs.uk

Best wishes

Jonathan Wright

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Broomfield Hospital

Thank you for posting on NHS Choices, we welcome people sharing experiences that they have whilst using our services without them we cannot praise and share the good and equally share, challenge and change the bad. What you have described is totally unacceptable and I have made the Trust Medical Director aware of the comments. We are currently working in partnership with a multi-national retailer to deliver customer service training to our staff at all levels. So that we can make improvements, help and investigate your experience further I would appreciate you contacting me at 01245 514577 jonathan.wright@meht.nhs.uk Best wishes Jonathan Wright

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story