"Hairmyres psychiatric unit "

About: Hairmyres Hospital / General Psychiatry

(as the patient),

I found very poor care, lack of empathy for patients. I felt the nurses I came into contact with were cheeky, judgemental, made me feel worse rather than better.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shona Welton, Head of Patient Affairs, NHS Lanarkshire

I was so sorry to read how you felt about the care you received in hospital, and apologise for your poor impression you have of the nursing staff. Your comments are being discussed with the staff there. However, if you feel able to contact us, we would like the opportunity to discuss your experiences more fully so that we can try to improve our services for the future.

Maria Docherty, Associate Director of Nursing for Mental Health & Learning Disabilities, would be pleased to speak to you. Maria can be contacted on 01698 858115 or Maria.Docherty@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story