"Prince Charles Hospital Merthyr"

About: Prince Charles Hospital

(as the patient),

just spent a wondrful night in the gp referral emergency care department, and have to say even though they where short on doctors that team treated me wonderfully even when I started to panic, but by the end of the night when it was time for the crisis team to see me the whole thing changes. apparently you are only suicidal if your dead, and age discrimination is either a language barrier or the doctors idea of a joke, these are the words of one of the nurses themselves! ! ! happy? I think not. I was actually feeling better until I seen them and now I have no faith at all in the crisis team at Prince Charles Hospital.

I have another appointment tomorrow because it appeared the nurse couldn't be bothered to do my assessment whilst I was there and see's fit for me to waste what little money I don't have on petrol. I told him I was apprehensive about using the service and described why, (because of past experiences) and his answer was simply fine don't get help. Personally I think this is disgusting, but have to admit par the crisis team the emergency care centre treated me amazingly well. I had a bed quick, and they tried their best to keep me well informed.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Madeleine Brindley, Head of Communications, Cwm Taf NHS Trust

Thank you very much for your comments about the emergency care centre team, I will make sure they are passed on. I'm sorry your experience of the crisis team fell short - we'd be happy to look in to this for you, however to do so, we'll need to take some details about you and your visit. If you'd like us to do this, please could you contact our concerns team by phoning 01443 744 800 or email CTHB_Concerns@wales.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful