"Could not do enough for me :-)"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

I was induced on the labour ward 10th July on my due date due to me having high blood pressure. All though I didnt get any of my birth plan due to the induction working much faster than expected the level of care I receieved was exceptional. I was admitted to intensive care after my emergency c section & my little boy to neo natal. This was the only part I did not like. I had him at 221am & did not meet him till 3pm. I also wanted my husband to tell me the sex of our baby as we'd kept it a surprise, but that was the first thing I was told via a nurse when I woke up. I was heart broken id missed out on the first hours of his life & that my husband couldnt tell me the news what the sex was. As I didnt get any of my birth plan id hoped for that at least. But....we are both doing well so cant really complain. I received a lot of one to one care, everyone was lovely & couldn't do enough for me. Im glad I ingored the bad reviews of the labour/delivery/maternity wards, if I have another baby I wouldn't hesitate to go back. If you give a message to Sarah in the intensive care unit (she was the first person to look after me) thank you for everything & pushing for me to see my baby, it meant a lot.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thanks so much for your lovely comments about the care you received. We have shared them with all the areas you mentioned so the staff are aware. We always really appreciate feedback from patients - positive and negative.

We're sorry that your husband didn't get to break the news that you'd had a little boy. It is feedback that staff will bear in mind for the future, as we would always want to respect the mother's wishes on something like this.

Thank you again and best wishes to all three of you.

Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust on 06/08/2013 at 22:11 Thanks so much for your lovely comments about the care you received. We have shared them with all the areas you mentioned so the staff are aware. We always really appreciate feedback from patients - positive and negative. We're sorry that your husband didn't get to break the news that you'd had a little boy. It is feedback that staff will bear in mind for the future, as we would always want to respect the mother's wishes on something like this. Thank you again and best wishes to all three of you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story