"improved on last 2 years but still a way to go"

About: Southampton General Hospital

Anything else?

AMU much improved on 2 years ago, but waiting times for some OP clinics poor with long waits and not often do you get to see consultant. Getting help with having a drink if cannot manager ones self if very hit and miss, with few staff to help esp at meal times. So called quiet time after lunch often interrupted by doctor, blood takers, pharmacy checking medication. In absence of another better provider there is no option. And as for book and chose, whenever i've used this there has been no choice, so please stop wasting everyone time, resources and expectations and just send appointments.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for your feedback and commenting that AMU has improved. However we were sorry to read that you experienced difficulties at mealtimes as staff should be available to help you with your food and drinks. The quiet rest period is aimed at reducing the number of interruptions, however essential care has to continue. We note your comments about the Choose and Book service but without knowing which element you are referring to it is difficult to comment. If you would like to discuss this please do not hesitate to contact Patient Support Services on 023 8079 6325 or e-mail patientsupportservices@uhs.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story