"5 discharges in 7 weeks"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

Anything else?

I'm a great believer in the NHS but it seems to be falling apart at the seems. My mother is into her 5th time in less than 2 months. She is continually discharged when quite clearly they have not established what was wrong and then within days she is readmitted. She has been in several wards and it is very hit and miss on the care given and cleanliness of the ward. Currently in E2 which seems fine. She also is hard of hearing and so when she is discharged it seems she is totally confused about what she went in for and what treatment and any support follows. Last time she was discharged she was promised a district nurse visit the following day plus oxygen, Nothing happened so she is back in 3 days later with breathing difficulties. Please get it right before it is too late!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cath Marsland, Head of Risk and Patient and Customer Services, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

I am so sorry you are not happy with the service provided, please contact the Patient and Customer Services Team at the hospital so we can investigate further and ensure that this does not happen again either for your mother or any other patient.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

I sincerely apologise that these were not been responded to in a timely manner.

This was due to lack of administrative support at the time which has now been rectified.

I would like to reassure you however that your comments were forwarded to the appropriate teams for them to reflect and learn from your experience so that improvements could be made in the services we offer.

Kind regards

Patient and Customer Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story