"Great CD on relaxation"

About: Inclusion Matters Liverpool

(as the patient),

I have just finished counselling with Inclusion Matters Liverpool. I found it very helpful. I have been suffering from anxiety and depression. When I started treatment, they sent me a letter detailing my appointments and what would happen. They also sent me a CD on relaxation. I use it once a day and it has been a great help to me. I understand not everyone receives this and I really believe it could help others if it was more widely available. The standard waiting time to see a counsellor seems to be up to 3 months which seems an awful long time. I was lucky as I got a cancellation and saw someone within a few weeks. I don't know how I would have been if I'd had to wait 3 months instead. My partner died a number of years ago and I think it's worse if you are on your own as you have no family support structure to help you get by. The CD has been brilliant for me and I hope to God it could help others like it's helped me.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sian Kavanagh, Manager, Inclusion Matters

Dear Liverpool5

I am very sorry about your bereavement and think you are right, it can be more difficult without family support.

Relaxation CD's are given out widely within the service and I'm really pleased that you were able to benefit so much from it.

We are aware that people have to wait before accessing counselling; please know we are doing all we can with the existing resources to keep the waiting time as low as possible.

I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with Patient Opinion; feedback is crucial to our understanding of patient experience.

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story