"A and E visit and stay on Ward"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Anything else?

After GP visit was told to go to A and E, staff seemed very busy and even though got on with job well, their was no feeling of 'care' or 'kindness'. I understand the hospital is under special measure, but just a little understanding goes a long way. I had a three hour wait which was uncomfortable but not unbearable, 1st nurse was fairly dismissive, but got on with job. All nurses in A and E just seemed not to care, one pulled off some surgical tape from multiple blood test attempts very quickly without warning (and it hurt!) and seemed surprised that I said ouch loudly - think they forget you are there! When saw surgical team, very helpful and kind and explained everything very well, was admitted to ward 16A for observation. All staff on ward friendly and helpful, clean on ward, and they sorted out everything after 3 days and I was returned to health after a lot of tests and medication. Just overall its a confusing process, lots of people talk to you and you have no idea who they are, just a few more badges would be good and more communication. You basically have to ask people to explain things properly or you are pushed around a bit. Just some basic things like always wanting you wear a gown, when not necessary. Being dressed just makes you feel in control and have a bit more respect. Lifts were very dirty - saw same piece of bread on floor of lift for 3 days!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Dear Ryley Thank you for taking the time to comment. I'm sorry that you weren't treated with compassion or kindness - we have service standards in place for our staff focussing on courtesy, communication and compassion, so it is disappointing that you did not see evidence of this from those who cared for you. Your comments about basic matters on the ward - like name badges and use of hospital gowns - are really helpful and we will feedback to our Chief Nurse. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the cleanliness of the lift - we will raise this with our domestic staff. Your feedback is really important and we will make sure that this is picked up with our teams so they can learn from your experience. If you want to discuss your experience in more detail, please do contact us via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01296 316042 or PALS@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk. We hope you are feeling better. Kind regards Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story